ES | FR | DE | IT | PT | NL | SV

Indian languages

Indian languagesTranslation service into Indian languages

LinguaVox – Your Indian language services provider

LinguaVox, a technical translation company with offices in Europe and the USA, offers translation services into most common Indian languages (Hindi, Urdu, Gujarati, Punjabi, Marathi, etc), and even minority Indian languages. Our large database of Indian language translators, which we have built since 2000, allow us to offer translation services into Indian languages very few translation companies can handle. Additionally, LinguaVox is one of the very few translation agencies with both ISO 9001 (quality management system) and EN 15038 (certified translation service) certificates, providing translation services into most the languages spoken in India.

Indian languages

India has several different languages that belong to four different linguistic groups, (or families). The Northern Indian languages that make up the Indo-European family originally evolved from the Indo-Aryan family of languages, which include, Sanskrit, from the middle Indo-Aryan, Prakrit and the Apabhra languages of the Middle Ages. These are the two major languages spoken by the majority of the citizens of India today. The modern North Indian languages such as Hindi-Urdu, Bengali, Marathi, Gujarati, Saraiki, Punjabi, Assamese, Sindhi, and Oriya emerged around 1000 AD. The Dravidian languages of South India, including, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, and Malayalam are spoken by about ¼ of the Indian population. Although Malayalam and Telugu originated in the Dravidian family, over 80 percent of the words used in these languages are part of the Sanskrit language. The people who speak the Telugu language can reproduce the Sanskrit phonics without altering the original text of the language itself.

The remaining Indian Languages are spoken by the Austro-Asiatic, and the Tibeto-Burman language groups along with a few minor isolated language families in Northeastern India.
Although English is widely spoken in the Indian Republic, it is spoken as a secondary language. The official language of the Indian Republic is standard Hindi. According to the Constitution of India, Hindi has been named as the official language in Devanagari script.

A national language has not been specified by either the Constitution of India or Indian law. The specification of a national language must be supported by a high court ruling. Although there is no legal standing, the languages that are listed in the eighth schedule of the Constitution of India are sometimes referred to as the national languages of India.

Although there are four language groups or families in India and South Asia, there are several hundred individual mother tongues spoken within these families. There were 1,652 languages recognized in the 1961 census, and 415 were listed in Ethnologue. The 2001 census of India showed that 29 languages were spoken by over 1 million people and 122 languages are spoken by over ten thousand. Three thousand years of language contact has significantly influenced the mutual communication between the four language groups of India and South Asia. Of the various individual languages that are spoken by Indian Citizens, two contact languages have played an important part of the history of India. The two contact languages that are spoken among the language families of India and South Asia are Persian and English.

Do not hesitate to contact our translation department for any request for quote for translation into Indian languages.